2011-12 002






Dalmellington Road

Waterside, Patna, nr Ayr

Ayrshire, KA6 7JH

WEBSITE UPDATES - the most recent changes are shown below. Just click on the link to view the page. The date in brackets shows when the page was updated.


Operating Days 2018 - (20 Dec)

STEAM DAYS - (20 Dec)

Xmas & Hogmanay Dec 2017 - (18 Dec)

Model Railway Shows 2018 - (18 Dec)

Latest News December 2017 - (22 Nov)

ARPG Members Meetings - (20 Nov)

Latest News November 2017 - (03 Nov)

Ind. Railway Organisations (13 Oct)

Latest News October 2017 (03 Oct)











The Scottish Industrial Railway Centre opens its doors to the public on special Steam Days every summer.


Run entirely by volunteers, Steam Days are a fun family day out, and offer a great opportunity for visitors to experience our 'living museum' where our industrial steam and diesel locomotives can be seen working in an authentic setting.


Enjoy a Brake Van ride on a short section of the Dalmellington Iron Company's main line, view our locomotives, visit our model railway and check out our photographic archives.


We offer a shop, cafe and free parking for your convenience.

Wheelchair friendly.

Come and visit!

Steam Days 2018

We're open from 11am - 4.30pm (last admission 4pm). All Steam Days operated by No. 10 unless stated otherwise.


Sunday 1st April 2018 -  (Note - this may be a diesel operated service)


Sunday 6th May 2018                 

Sunday 27th May 2018 - No. 10 & Fireless

Monday 28th May 2018


Sunday 24th June 2018 - No. 10 & Fireless


Sunday 1st July 2018  

Sunday 8th July 2018                          

Sunday 15th July 2018

Sunday 22nd July 2018

Sunday 29th July 2018 - No. 10 & Fireless                  


Sunday 5th August 2018                

Sunday 12th August 2018                

Sunday 19th August 2018                  

Sunday 26th August 2018 - No. 10 & Fireless


Sunday 2nd September 2018

Sunday 23rd September 2018 - No. 10 & Fireless


Note - Vintage Steam and Diesel Locomotives are subject to availability. ARPG will not accept responsibility for any loss, no matter how incurred, should the rostered locomotive(s) become unavailable.


The Scottish Industrial Railway Centre is operated by volunteers from the Ayrshire Railway Preservation Group, Charity Number SC 016127

Copyright 2017 Ayrshire Railway Preservation Group. All rights reserved. All images shown are with the Copyright Holders permission.

(page updated 20 Dec 2017 NG)


Admission to the site is by ticket purchased at the start of your visit. This gives access to all the attractions and unlimited rides on the Brake Van. Please Note - we are cash sales only, we cannot accept card payments at this time.

Adult : £6.00      

Children aged 4 and over : £4.00

Children aged 3 and under : FREE

Family (Two adults and three children) : £16.00

Twitter square black large Facebook square blue large